Argumentations, don’t forget them.

For many new users, Ubuntu Linux becomes a milestone to achieve. At first, beginning with the GNU/Linux distribution you might feel like your the only one. But as soon as you login for the first time all problems just fade away. You are thrilled you got (Ubuntu) Linux installed. And even if you encounter a device or service not working out of the box you say to yourself: “I’ll fix that later.” Back to exploring!That’s how it went in my case. But I immediately learned an other lesson. When it comes to fixing problems there’s is a chance you’ll have to put 100% against it to get it solved. Also to know more about what you are using and learn the ways of your newly installed OS it can take 200% and a lot of time. Of course you don’t have to do it! But I doubt you’ll stay happy!As glad as an absolute beginner could be I don’t advice to start spreading the word about GNU/Linux. Why? The answer to this question is my reality every time I talk about GNU/Linux with people… and I talk a lot!

Something what’s important when hitting subjects such as GNU/Linux are argumentations. Often both sender and receiver forget to mention them. I’ve been working for four years (busy with my fifth as you read) being a salesman. Without argumentations you won’t be able to inform people. I carefully use the inform because I find it wrong to push people, whether their fears or their ‘I don’t want’ attitude makes sense or not.

Yesterday I was on the phone with a colleague of mine. He was totally hyped about a (relative) new web browser called Shiira. “Yeah you got to check it out, it’s neat and so cool,” he said. Being a man of argumentations and facts my first reaction was: “Why is it so cool?” I had to ask him two more times before he finally started to spit it out. The browser has Mac OS X features such as Expose build in, the browser is made in the same style as Safari, it could import bookmarks from Safari and much more. During the conversation I remembered so many conversations I have had with people about Linux and realized one important thing (the answer to the why?)!Time, experience, some theory and being an example of a satisfied GNU/Linux user is what makes people think, switch and try. In all my conversations I can always reflect and give feedback on statements made by others and answer most of their questions. When people start to use silly argumentations I still can lay down facts on the table making my point without engaging an useless Windows vs. Linux discussion. Those factors I just wrote down even woke the interest of the same colleague. He uses Apple and Windows for years, don’t knows better, didn’t wanted to know better until we talked a couple of times about Linux. By giving him examples, facts, information he really had to change his opinion about GNU/Linux in general. Even more interesting is the fact he agreed to let me install Ubuntu Linux on his (relative) old computer as soon as he gets his new Macbook Pro.The best thing, no matter how much you love Ubuntu as an absolute beginner is to avoid feeding people’s current (but oh so outdated) opinion about GNU/Linux. Telling people that Linux is more secure does not mean much for them. Explaining them about permissions, the file system, root account and password will have maximum effect. Because it are valid argumentations.

Leave a Reply

