Installing Intel 815/852/855 graphics controller drivers on Ubuntu / Debian

If you are new to Ubuntu it may happen that devices won’t work. That’s new, for Windows users. Microsoft Windows is an universal Operating System. That’s why hardware manufacturers have developers working for them to write the drivers. But it doesn’t means those drivers also end up in Linux!. There are various reasons for that:- Linux isn’t being recognized as a grown-up Operating System by certain companies and manufacturers.- Propriety still plays a big role. By default hardware manufacturers are not keen on releasing their product specifications.- Not enough developers in the community to write a driver which sometimes can be complex.These are the most important reasons why driver support sometimes fails under Linux. Also I had to live with that until today. I finally got the puzzle solved in my case.The Intel onboard graphics such as the 810/852/855 family haven’t always been working properly under GNU/Linux distributions. The first stage was a simple driver which made it possible to use your portable with a maximum resolution of 1280×1024. After a while 8xxresolution came into the repositories. With this CLI-application (Command Line Interface) it was possible to configure a pre-made script to use the real maximum resolution your portable and onboard chip supported. In my case that is 1400×1050.As I said before on this blog I’m a beginner myself in many factors and forms. My only advantage compared with an Absolute Beginner is the fact I’ve have been using GNU/Linux distributions since 1999. While writing an other article for my blog (about the happiness of Debra and Ian) I’ve came across an interesting piece! I knew that the Intel 855 drivers where bundled with the drivers for the 810 and 915 chipset drivers but the whole problem was they were only available in .rpm. The Wiki article stated that ‘Alien’ (a small application) is able to create .deb files out of .rpm and other archives. That was exactly what I needed!I did the following terminal work to to install the drivers with enabled hardware acceleration :

  • sudo apt-get install alien

In the meantime I downloaded the driver and browsed in the terminal to the location it would be downloaded to. After the download was complete I used the following commands.

  • sudo alien <filname.rpm>
  • sudo dpkg -i <filename.deb>
  • sudo apt-get update
  • sudo apt-get upgrade

If, in your case you still can’t switch to the maximum resolution you should install 915resolution from the repositories. Please note that you might have to enable the multiverse / universe repositories to download and install this application. 915resolution works exactly like 855resolution, only it supports more (new) Intel onboard chipsets. But even without the maximum resolution your onboard chip should now be as fast as under Windows again. I installed and played Planet Penguin Racer to test the graphics card. It worked as it should even configured at a resolution of 1400×1050 or 1280×1024.

84 Responses to Installing Intel 815/852/855 graphics controller drivers on Ubuntu / Debian

  1. antoine praz says:

    Hi,
    Do you have an idea how to enable the direct rendering?
    I have an 82852/855GM graphics device,
    Ubuntu 6.06 installed.
    The 3D rendering is quite poor:

    $glxgears -printfps
    635 frames in 6.0 seconds = 105.761 FPS

    $glxinfo | grep rendering
    direct rendering: No

    Any help would be great!

    Thank you in advance, Antoine

  2. […] Earlier in my blog I wrote how to install drivers for a Intel Graphical card. I took my own graphical card as an example. You can read the guide here. […]

  3. […] 2006-08-22: in order to boost performance, I followed refactored.net’s and Arve’s suggestion and installed a 686 processor specific kernel and the “official” Intel 815/852/855graphic drivers. Slightly better, no extreme improvements though. […]

  4. Marco Rojas says:

    This is an as a great guide and so far the easiest way for installing the latest Intel drivers. Thank you very much, I can now run glxgears without any errors like I was getting before.

  5. Tarek says:

    Hi,
    dmesg tells me the following:

    “agpgart: Detected an Intel 845G Chipset.”

    and so I followed your instructions, where as I still get choppy graphics when i drag a window over the desktop. what is the solution??

  6. Rhyss says:

    Is it totally required to put after the install:

    # sudo apt-get update
    # sudo apt-get upgrade

    I’ve already updated before.

  7. Ivanhoe says:

    Same problem as antoine praz, and i tried everything u said 😦

  8. raphael says:

    Same problem as Antoine too…

    I can t enable 3d rendering…

    thanks
    r.

  9. Akos Palfi says:

    HI!

    Try it in 16 bit color depth!

    I think it’ll resolve your problem.

    Akos

  10. Jsp says:

    I play a game called Guild wars and i have set my graphics to the lowest settings and it makes my computer Reboot and makes the screen go black what should i do besides getting a new video card?

  11. Pewaukee70 says:

    Need easier guide, please? Sorry, but we’re running Ubuntu because we dont know how to do anything in Linux in the first place. I cant install, and the README from Intel tells me to install differently…and it doesnt see the file or tells me it is unsecure running the .rpm, and I can only cancel the install. I DLEd from the same link yet got an .rpm and rpm.part files

    I just want to be able to watch movies on my widescreen laptop and not have everyone look artifically fat from the mishandled aspect ratio.

    Theres simply too much info and irrelevant replies on Ubuntu forums to find anything of use.

  12. Austin says:

    So ran through the install fine and everything went as described. However, it still doesn’t list any other resolutions available to choose from.

    Hate to say it, but if this doesn’t get worked out, it’s back to that other OS…

  13. Nico says:

    Im runnin linux on a vaio vgnfs920, drivers for the 900 Intel Media Accelerator are just fine, but i was wondering how could i configure the vram, like give it or take some from the graphic card.

  14. Jordan_U says:

    Is this simply the same as the xserver-xorg-video-intel driver available from Ubuntu’s repositories?

  15. sony vaio notebook ar370

    sony vaio notebook sz440

  16. bob says:

    x0Lepq hi great site thx http://peace.com

  17. webdesign says:

    Well i have the same issue with the driver ! just doesnt seem to work for me !

  18. Very useful, info thx, linux rocks

  19. Jarle Solberg says:

    Hi,
    I’m a new Ubuntu user, and I have installed 8.04 to a HP DC 7100 system with an Intel video card. The resolution now is 1024*768. On windows XP I had 1280*1024. I have tried to download the dri-I915-v1.1-20041217.i386.rpm driver, but I can not even make that work.
    Any ideas to a new fan of Ubuntu. Please e-mail me

  20. atul tiwari says:

    i want to install it.

  21. Lindsea says:

    Hey there.

    I’m new as well, but managed to change the .rpm to .deb. I ran it in terminal, told it to install and it told me my kernel’s outdated. What gives? I am running the latest gutsy, and I tried hardy before but it kept crashing wine so I am stuck here. Any thoughts on how to get around this?

    Also, I *do* need the actual driver– I was able to change resolutions but I need to enable direct rendering so I can play World of Warcraft. It was the only reason I was still using windows and everyone told me I could get it to run on ubuntu– and I can, just at 4fps. 😦

  22. atul tiwari says:

    want to install

  23. randall says:

    WTF?? This is an “absolute beginner guide”??? I am an actual absolute beginner and the assumptions about knowledge of code and terminology of many “helpers” here is driving me up the wall. I just want to know how to get and install the driver for my i386 Gateway PC (model 500S). Isn’t there some big directory of drivers on the internet somewhere, and isn’t there some ubuntu program or plug-in that a person could go through and do this with without having to know terminal commands???

  24. Ford chips says:

    ill have to try this

  25. Faucet says:

    Ubuntu are the best OS for me. Now I use Ubuntu with no any problem. For the installation, my friend doing that.

  26. emo says:

    I hate it when i can’t find drivers for linux, hmm, wrappers and all, lame manufactors.

  27. This is an as a great guide and so far the easiest way for installing the latest Intel drivers.

  28. Registrar says:

    Nice guide for installing intel drivers on linux, thanks for sharing

  29. reggy says:

    Works nicely for a dell c400 with an i810 too .. wasn’t able to log on , after installing the 915 driver it seems to be okay

  30. sanjayraj says:

    i am unable to get good picture resolution in ubuntu i am getting 640 x 480 resolution help me

  31. Iggy says:

    Hey, I’m sorry but I found it hard to follow these instructions. Got to generating the .deb package but dpkg lost me completely. Not too used to using command lines… Any help would be appreciated. Thanks a lot

  32. Iggy says:

    Nevermind, all sorted now. Thanks a lot 🙂

  33. Supply Chain says:

    Thanks for the information it will help me out with sorting out my problem

  34. enjoyed the read, i will bookmark your page and share it with my friends

  35. samy says:

    hi, i’m new in ubuntu. want to try it. thanks..

  36. Ollie Dewese says:

    Thank you for this post, I’ve learned a lot more now about world of warcraft! Your post was an huge aid. I hope you will post more of your guides!.

  37. CkVega says:

    Just the info I needed, thank you very much.

  38. After 2 days of testing I killed my windows pc 🙂

  39. wall decals for kids…

    […]Installing Intel 815/852/855 graphics controller drivers on Ubuntu / Debian « Absolute Beginner Talk[…]…

  40. hard drive says:

    hard drive…

    […]Installing Intel 815/852/855 graphics controller drivers on Ubuntu / Debian « Absolute Beginner Talk[…]…

  41. arning: Skipping conversion of scripts in package dri-I915: postinst prerm
    Warning: Use the –scripts parameter to include the scripts.
    Package build failed. Here’s the log:
    dh_testdir
    dh_testdir
    dh_testroot
    dh_prep
    dh_installdirs
    dh_installdocs
    dh_installchangelogs
    find . -maxdepth 1 -mindepth 1 -not -name debian -print0 | \
    xargs -0 -r -i cp -a {} debian/dri-i915
    dh_compress
    dh_makeshlibs
    dh_installdeb
    dh_shlibdeps
    dh_gencontrol
    dpkg-gencontrol: warning: Depends field of package dri-i915: unknown substitution variable ${shlibs:Depends}
    dh_md5sums
    dh_builddeb
    dpkg-deb: error: parsing file ‘debian/dri-i915/DEBIAN/control’ near line 2 package ‘dri-i915’:
    error in Version string ‘v1.1-20041218’: version number does not start with digit
    dh_builddeb: dpkg-deb –build debian/dri-i915 .. returned exit code 2
    make: *** [binary-arch] Error 25
    i m getting this error help me out

  42. Thank you for puting the time in to publish this info. I found it very useful. If you are ever interested in submit link free then please contact me….

    […]Installing Intel 815/852/855 graphics controller drivers on Ubuntu / Debian « Absolute Beginner Talk[…]…

  43. lcd says:

    lcd…

    […]Installing Intel 815/852/855 graphics controller drivers on Ubuntu / Debian « Absolute Beginner Talk[…]…

  44. You made some first rate factors there. I appeared on the web for the issue and found most individuals will go together with together with your website.

  45. ati video cards…

    […]Installing Intel 815/852/855 graphics controller drivers on Ubuntu / Debian « Absolute Beginner Talk[…]…

  46. color theory says:

    My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on
    various websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another
    platform. I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.

    net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content
    into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  47. Laurene says:

    Your way of telling the whole thing in this piece of writing is genuinely good, all be
    able to simply understand it, Thanks a lot.

  48. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This post posted at this website is
    actually fastidious.

  49. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did
    you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  50. Merissa says:

    Hurrah! In the end I got a weblog from where I be able to in fact
    obtain useful facts concerning my study and knowledge.

  51. each time i used to read smaller content which also
    clear their motive, and that is also happening with this
    piece of writing which I am reading at this time.

  52. I almost never comment, however i did some searching and
    wound up here Installing Intel 815/852/855 graphics controller
    drivers on Ubuntu / Debian | Absolute Beginner Talk.
    And I do have a few questions for you if you do not mind.
    Could it be only me or does it look as if like a few of these comments come across like written by brain dead people?

    😛 And, if you are writing on additional places,
    I’d like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list of every one of your public pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  53. After looking into a handful of the blog posts on your website, I seriously like your
    way of blogging. I saved it to my bookmark webpage list and
    will be checking back in the near future. Please visit my website as well and let me know your opinion.

  54. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.

    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  55. I really like it when individuals come together and share thoughts.

    Great site, stick with it!

  56. ipr says:

    If you actually do hit her a few times back, it won’t look favorable to you in court. It is important to take the time to properly fill out each part of the application. After filing a patent, the patent is sustained by paying periodic maintenance fee i.

  57. Good answers in return of this query with firm arguments and explaining everything
    concerning that.

  58. I believe everything composed made a ton of sense.
    However, what about this? suppose you added a little information?
    I ain’t suggesting your content is not solid., but suppose you added a headline to possibly get folk’s attention?
    I mean Installing Intel 815/852/855 graphics controller drivers on Ubuntu / Debian | Absolute Beginner Talk
    is a little plain. You might glance at Yahoo’s home page and see how they write article titles to get people to open the links. You might add a related video or a related picture or two to get people excited about what you’ve got to say.

    Just my opinion, it would bring your blog a little bit more interesting.

  59. Rowena says:

    The guide also helps players avoid a few quests that are not all that beneficial.
    Nope, tried out gamers typically totally level their personalities
    from level 1 to 90 in less than 3 days playtime, the fastest time tape-recorded up until now with our system is of FIFTY hrs to level 90.

    A player who does not choose mining can expect to pay more on the auction house for the needed materials.

  60. With the development of the Satellite Communication technology,
    not just the telephonic services, but also the usage of internet has been assisted very successfully.
    Basically, the percolator was a metal container with
    a small glass fixture on top. Because Leapster Games are able to
    share so that it saves major if you are buying tablets for siblings.

  61. Generally I do not learn article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up
    very pressured me to check out and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me.
    Thanks, quite nice article.

  62. This is a great way to increase sales and ultimately increase your profits.
    Lapel years have served many functions, being useful for varied reasons.
    Certificates of achievement might be the standard when it comes to recognizing professionals for
    their continued education, but often they wind up hidden away on
    an office wall that few see.

  63. Cardiosteroil besides having Omega-3 also has Omega-6 and Omega-9, the three of which are to be found in shark liver oil.
    Fill these capsules with boric acid and place in the
    vaginal canal. Are living yoghurt assists to restore the germs in large intestine.

  64. Virtual Private Servers: This may be the latest trend in web hosting service.
    While a fantastic list builder and autoresponder will
    amount to some money upfront, it is well worth it as your subscribers, readers and purchasers climb higher.

    You want your website visitors to have new information that they can use each and every time they visit your blog.

  65. Normally I don’t read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice post.

  66. I just like the valuable information you provide to your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check once more here regularly.
    I’m slightly sure I’ll learn plenty of new stuff proper here!
    Best of luck for the following!

  67. Any childs method of titanfall down load is usually crunchy externally but
    soft at the center. Then, two players stay behind to defend while
    the other teams capture the middle or “B” point. Similar to your run-of-the-mill king of the hill variant with three points to hold from the opposing team.

  68. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re
    using? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding
    between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  69. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across
    this board and I to find It really useful & it helped me out much.
    I am hoping to present something back and aid others such as you helped me.

  70. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with
    us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving
    the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Fantastic blog and outstanding design.

  71. I seriously love your site.. Pleasant colors & theme.

    Did you make this amazing site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my very own website and would love to find out where
    you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Thanks!

  72. If some one wants expert view regarding blogging then i suggest him/her to pay a quick visit this web site, Keep up the good job.

  73. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem along with your web site in web explorer, might test this?
    IE still is the marketplace chief and a big part of other folks will omit your magnificent writing
    due to this problem.

  74. I don’t even know how I ended up right here, however I assumed
    this publish was once good. I do not know who you
    are but definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger for those who aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  75. I think the admin of this website is really working hard in favor of his site, as here every stuff is quality based data.

  76. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my
    blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design. Appreciate it

  77. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority
    of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you
    write regarding here. Again, awesome blog!

  78. Hildegard says:

    It’s remarkable to pay a visit this web site and reading the views
    of all colleagues about this piece of writing, while I am also zealous of getting
    knowledge.

  79. Shaun says:

    Highly energetic post, I enjoyed that bit. Will there
    be a part 2?

  80. Thanks for finally writing about >Installing Intel 815/852/855 graphics
    controller drivers on Ubuntu / Debian | Absolute Beginner
    Talk <Loved it!

  81. Usually I don’t read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up
    very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed
    me. Thanks, quite nice post.

  82. What i do not understood is in fact how you are no longer really a lot more well-appreciated than you may be now. You’re very intelligent. You know thus considerably in relation to this matter, made me for my part imagine it from a lot of various angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to be involved unless it is one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your individual stuffs great. All the time take care of it up!

Leave a Reply

