Palm Zire under Linux

A week ago I found my Palm Zire again. I’ve experienced some easy working for the passed half year and didn’t needed the hand-held. Unfortunately the amount of work is dramatically increasing and I need the Palm to organize it all as efficiently as possible.The device has been out of order for half a year. I needed to ‘hard reset’ it in order to boot it. This reviving procedure costed me all my data. Numerous telephone numbers, memo’s and quick writings were lost.In order to prevent a repeat I dove into Synaptic (the package manager, Ubuntu uses) and used some keywords, common for hand-held devices. I found J-Pilot. This application is almost identical to the software Palm ships with it’s models. I can work both on my Palm and Notebook and when done just simply synchronize the two using USB or InfraRed.

One Response to Palm Zire under Linux

Leave a Reply

