My first day as an Apple Technician.

Today was the first day I could experience my job. Yesterday my store manager asked me if I was interested in helping out the guys at the head office. At the moment they are missing two colleagues. One of them has found other work, I will be replacing him permanently soon. An other employee at the head office couldn’t work much this week. So why not. It would be a nice opportunity to check everything out and get used to my new desk which will be mine within a couple of weeks.I start earlier. My train leaves at 7:22 AM and since I like big breakfasts and checking my email and daily links my day starts while it’s still dark. Around 8:10 AM I arrive at work and the first thing to do is find the coffee machine. Though I always drink coffee in the morning when I get up I still need an other cup to become productive. While drinking my coffee I could match the faces with names I’ve been talking with on the telephone.The day started highly tech. Bas, my supervisor pointed out an Apple PowerMac G5 2.0 Dual Core of which the Power Supply was dead. Since the PowerMac has three to four different kind of screws and they vary in length it was a bit sketchy and difficult to work at a fast tempo. But still, taking out the motherboard, all connectors, Power Supply Unit, loads of screws and fans and putting it all back took me two hours without practically any help. So yes, even after one year being away from fixing normal desktop computer I still have the skills.After a short break it was time to disassemble a Macbook 1.83. I’ve never disassembled a notebook in my life, especially no Apple type. Taking one apart is much easier actually only you have to be very careful and get the feeling. But for the first time it also went very well. But… I still managed to brake something. The top case of the macbooks (which also contains the track pad and keyboard) is connected to the Main Logic Board via a small and fragile cable. Yes, I broke that connector. No worries though, it will be fixed tomorrow by replacing the top case.Bas and Johan (an other Apple Certified Technician) decided to work over. The workload at the head office is very huge. Since I’ll be their colleague withing some weeks and I was enjoying the whole day I automatically wanted to help out too. So after having dinner at the local cafeteria we drove back and got busy.Having to deal with some paperwork I went berserk on that. After that it was time again to repair another Macbook. While the Macbook was fixing itself (software), I diagnosed / analyzed an iMac and arranged replacement parts to be ordered.I enjoyed the day tremendously. Being always interested in hardware, software and troubleshooting this is just the job for me. After four years of experience with desktop computers I decided I wanted to continue in the same lane until I am going to start my new study. Upcoming Friday I’m going back again since they still will be low on people. In Utrecht, they are still looking for someone to replace my tasks, salesman and technical service stuff handler. In Utrecht the technical handling is no big deal. Fixing iPod’s and retuning dead keyboards.

12 Responses to My first day as an Apple Technician.

  1. MAHOMUCHI says:

    Hi friend, First, i want to Congratulatulate to you
    for your new Job, im apple technician in mexico, and i can tell you … this is my best job that i ever had, and i really love what i do, because you are not only fixin computers, u are helping people and this make it better. So I wish you very good look, and if i can help u in something just let me know it ok?.

  2. jason weastell says:

    hi and congrates with the job. sounds really interesting. i am currently doing my compTIA A+ it tech course then the network+ course whats the address of your compnay and do they need people !!!

  3. Danilo says:

    This is very fascinating, You are a very professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and sit up for seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

  4. weiterlesen says:

    Wenn ich es nicht besser wissen würde, dann würde ich ohne zu zögern dazu sagen,
    dass der Text “My first day as an Apple Technician. | Absolute Beginner Talk”
    glatt aus meinen Tastaturhänden entspringen könnte so detailliert wie der geschrieben
    ist. Alle Finger nach oben und viel Glück noch weiter so !

  5. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; many
    of us have created some nice procedures and we are looking to swap methods with
    others, why not shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  6. I do accept as true with all the ideas you have offered to your post.
    They’re very convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for novices. May just you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  7. Anastasia says:

    Admiring the hard work you put into your blog
    and detailed information you present. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    outdated rehashed material.

  8. Alexis says:

    Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?

    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic,
    as well as the content!

  9. I drop a leave a response whenever I especially enjoy a post on a site or I have something to contribute to
    the conversation. Usually it’s triggered by the sincerness displayed in the article I read. And on this article My first day as an Apple Technician. | Absolute Beginner Talk. I was actually moved enough to create a thought 😉 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.
    Is it simply me or do some of the comments come across as if they are
    left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional
    online social sites, I’d like to follow everything new you have to post. Could you make a list every one of your community pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  10. You happen to be a very brilliant man!

  11. Hi colleagues, nice post and fastidious arguments commented at this place, I am really enjoying by these.

  12. Howdy just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few
    of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but
    I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the
    same outcome.

Leave a Reply

